2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007

Two CSB PIs - Ralph Weissleder and Bradley E. Bernstein - are included in the Clarivate Analytics 2017 Highly Cited Researchers list (formerly the Thompson Reuters list).


Preprints are changing the culture of communicating results: To publish or not? Science's preprint guide.


"Tumors talk to bones, and bones answer back" - Study by Engblom, Pfirschke et al. from the Pittet Lab is featured in Science and Nature. See also interview with the authors.


"Food Allergy Detection Device Could Remove Danger Of Dining Out" - CBS News report on the iEat device developed at CSB


Dennis Brown, PhD has been elected as a member of Academia Europaea (The Academy of Europe). Academia Europaea is the only Europe-wide academy with individual membership from Council of Europe states and other nations across the world.


Aaron Aguirre, MD, PhD has received a 2017 Physician/Scientist Development Award for “Morphology and Dynamic Functions of Pericytes in the Heart.” The project will use state-of-the-art microscopy techniques to better understand the role of pericytes—unique cells that line the outer walls of the smallest blood vessels in the heart.


The work of Lee Lab on detecting and profiling circulating ovarian cancer cells is highlighted on the Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRP) site.


"Uncovering Cancer" - the work of Pittet Lab is featured in Nature Medicine article.


CSB has been named as one of the NCI Innovative Research in Cancer Nanotechnology (IRCNs). The IRCNs engage in directed, product-focused research that aims to translate cutting-edge science and technology into the next generation of diagnostic and therapeutic tools. These platforms serve as the core technologies for a wide array of specific applications that will ultimately benefit cancer patients.


"..changing from racing a Ferrari to riding a bicycle (with a flat tire)" - former CBS fellow Florian Leuschner is documenting his transition from a postdoctoral fellowship in the United States to junior faculty in Europe in this Circulation Research paper. (pdf)


Recent CSB work featured in the NEJM. (pdf)


Ralph Weissleder, MD, PhD is in the top 100 of Highly Cited Researchers.


CSB work is profiled in MGH Research Institute spotlight "Mass General Researchers Investigate the ‘Big Eaters’ of the Immune System: #MacrophageMonday"


Sean Arlauckas of the Weissleder lab won the Tayyaba Hasan, PhD ORCD Poster of Prestige Award for top abstract at this year’s MGH Research Fellow Poster Celebration. The prize recognizes outstanding contributions to the MGH research enterprise.


Michael Dworkin (Higgins Lab) won a best poster award for his poster “Improved estimation of average glucose from HbA1c by adjusting HbA1c for RBC age” at the 2017 Harvard Medical School Pathology Annual Retreat.


Best of 2016: An article by Pfirschke and Engblom from the Pittet laboratory on how to improve cancer immunotherapy is listed in the 2016 edition of “Best of Immunity” as one of the ten most-accessed articles from the Journal. Immunity publishes papers that report the most important advances in immunology research.


American Heart Association selected Fil Swirski, PhD to receive the 2017 Jeffrey M. Hoeg Award for Basic Science & Clinical Research. Congratulations, Fil!


"New NIH Approach to Grant Funding Aimed at Optimizing Stewardship of Taxpayer Dollars" - letter from Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Institutes of Health


The MGH Graduate Student Division is pleased to announce that Mikael Pittet, PhD is the winner of the 2017 MGH GSD Principal Investigator (PI) Mentoring Award. This award is given to an MGH PI who has contributed to the success of PhD graduate student(s) at MGH and demonstrated excellence in a number of ways.


Marie Siwicki (Pittet Lab) has been selected to receive the Landry Cancer Research Fellowship. The award, through Harvard’s Landry Cancer Biology Consortium, funds graduate research with an emphasis on multi-disciplinary approaches to cancer biology. Congratulations Marie!


Congratulations to Dr. Camilla Engblom, from the Pittet laboratory, for brillantly completing her PhD thesis work entitled “Cancer-host interactions influencing disease progression and therapy”. Dr. Engblom graduated from the PhD Program in Immunology at Harvard Medical School.


Science features CSB research on macrophages in the heart - (pdf)


Ralph Mazitschek, PhD has received the Young Mentor Award from Harvard Medical School (HMS). The award was established in 2005 to recognize faculty who are still in the early stages of their career, but are devoting time to mentor others. Congratulations, Ralph!


Hakho Lee, PhD has been selected as a 2017 MGH Research Scholar. Congratulations, Hakho!


Matthias Nahrendorf, MD, PhD, has been promoted to Professor of Radiology, Harvard Medical School. Congratulations Matthias!


Ashley Fenn, PhD from the Swirski Lab is featured on the MGH Research Institute Postdoc Profiles page. (pdf)


Fil Swirski, PhD is a recipient of the inaugural Outstanding Investigator Award from the NHLBI and the Established Investigator Award from the American Heart Association. Congratulations, Fil!


Ralph Weissleder, MD PhD is one of more than 100 scientists and leaders who signed the letter “Convergence: The future of health”. It was released in Science. (pdf)


Miles Miller, PhD and Kevin King, MD, PhD have been selected to serve as Associate Scientific Advisors (ASAs) for Science's sister journal, Science Translational Medicine, for 2017-2018.